Below are answers to our most frequently asked questions on AWS.

For more detailed questions on AWS, please contact us.


What is AWS Certification?

SureSkills offers AWS Associate-level certifications for Solutions Architects, SysOps Administrators and Developers. We offer Professional-level certifications for Solutions Architects and DevOps engineers. Additional certifications are in development. See the AWS Certification Roadmap.

What is the difference between a certification and an exam?

Certification is a credential that an individual earns upon successfully completing a set of certification requirements, which typically includes passing an exam.

What is a certification credential?

A credential is a logo badge and title that you may use on your business cards and other professional collateral to designate yourself as AWS Certified.

Why should I consider getting AWS Certified?

AWS Certifications enable individuals to gain recognition for their knowledge and skills in working with AWS services. Additionally, preparing for certification requirements provides an opportunity to expand your expertise working with AWS services.

How do I become AWS Certified?

Individuals must meet specific certification requirements to earn an AWS certification credential. Click here to review details for each certification. Upon completion of all requirements, you will receive your certification credentials.

Where can I take an AWS Certification exam?

Kryterion are the offical testing centre for all AW Certification exams. As part of SureSkills commitment to being the complete AWS partner we have become an official Kryterion test centre. 

What score is required to pass an AWS Certification exam?

AWS Certification passing scores are set by using statistical analysis and are subject to change. AWS does not publish exam passing scores because exam questions and passing scores are subject to change without notice.

When will I get my exam results?

You will receive your exam results on-screen immediately after completing your exam.

If I fail the exam can I retake it?

If you fail the exam, you can retake the exam subject to the following conditions:  

  • You must wait 30 days from the day you fail to take the exam again. 

  • You can take the exam up to three times in one year from the date of your first attempt. 

  • You must pay the full exam fee each time you retake the exam.

How long will my certification be valid?

All customers and partners will be required to update their certification (or “recertify”) every two (2) years.


As Ireland's and Northern Ireland's only AWS approved training provider, SureSkills has the skills and experience needed to help candidates reap the benefits of maintaining or upgrading current certification.


Sign up for our newsletter