Below are answers to our most frequently asked questions on Commvault.

For more questions on Commvault, please contact us.

How can certification status be upgraded from V10 to V11?

The Commvault v11 certification program offers upgrade exams for Professional and Master certification status. The Specialist upgrade path requires taking the full V11 Specialist exam. If you passed an exam but have not achieved the specific certification level, you must retake the full exams.


Must a student participate in an Instructor-Led Training class or purchase eLearning modules to qualify to take an exam?

It is strongly recommended to attend formal Commvault training, although it is not required.


How difficult are the certification exams?

Question formats are designed to challenge participants and to prove competencies at various levels. Professional level certification requires participants to demonstrate strong knowledge of the Commvault Common Technology Engine, policy configuration and client/agent/subclient configuration. Specialist level certification requires participants to demonstrate advanced knowledge of specific features including: Deduplication, IntelliSnap® Technology, storage configuration and Virtualisation.

If a student upgrades a certification to v11, what is the cost to take the exams?

Students have one free opportunity to pass the v10 equivalent for any exam passed on previous versions through June 30, 2016.


What are 2018 Update Exams?

Commvault has changed its product release cycle and as a result, new features are added via quarterly service packs. To ensure users of Commvault® software are up-to-date on the latest product enhancements, special training courses and update exams are being offered. These exams are free of charge and should be taken within one year of exam release.

What do I need to do to update my certification status to 2018?

Updating certification status is based on your current certification level:

  • V11 Commvault® Professional – take the Commvault Professional 2018 update exam.

  • V10 Commvault® Professional – take the V11 Commvault Professional upgrade exam and the Commvault Professional 2018 update exam.

  • V11 Commvault® Engineer – take the Commvault Engineer 2018 update exam.

  • V11 Master – take the Master 2018 update exam.

  • V10 Master – take the V11 Master upgrade exam and the Master 2018 update exam.

  • Versions prior to V10 – there are no upgrade paths for certification levels prior to V10. Full exams must be taken to achieve 2018 certification status.

Is there a path to attain 2018 certification status if I only have passed the V11 Core Fundamentals exam?

Yes. Education Services is offering a special 2-day Implementation and Maintenance course which includes a 2018 update exam which will result in 2018 Professional certification status. This offer is valid until March 31, 2018.

As a long time training partner of Commvault, SureSkills has the skills and experience to ensure you enjoy all the benefits of maintaining or upgrading current certification.


Sign up for our newsletter