Got ITIL Foundation – why go to the next level?

Firstly, all ITIL Intermediate certifications are only available to take if you have already successfully completed the ITIL Foundation certification – this is an Axelos/PeopleCert requirement. A recent search of job offerings in IT reveals thousands of ads that mention or require ITIL, ITIL certifications are certainly important to employers when trying to get an idea of qualification levels and ITIL clearly remains important to organisations of all sizes.

ITIL Foundation remains the core level that provides good preparation and insight into the relevant ITIL structure concepts in IT Service Management. Whereas the Intermediate Levels deepen specific concepts across the different phases or processes of the IT Service Management cycle. Indeed, depending on your need, your role or position, some specific Intermediate levels can improve your professional skills and help your become more job competitive.

ITIL Intermediate provides a very significant knowledge check and milestone certification that can lead you to Expert level status. The modules within the ITIL Intermediate stage are divided into two groups: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. 

Interested in ITIL Intermediate Levels?

Trying to decide on your next step in the ITIL Intermediate certification path? How can you improve your IT service management skills? We hope our simple guide here will explain ITIL 4 certification paths and the options open to you.

Firstly, as mentioned earlier the ITIL Intermediate levels are divided into two groups: ITIL Managing Professional, which consists of four modules and ITIL Strategic leader, which consists of two modules. The ITIL Managing Professional group of modules are relevant for IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across business. The Managing Professional (MP) group of modules provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT-enabled services, teams and workflows.

The ITIL Managing Professional group of modules are:
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Create, Deliver and Support.
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value.
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: High-velocity IT.
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan and Improve.

On the other hand, the ITIL Strategic Leader modules recognize the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally-enabled services. Becoming an ITIL SL demonstrates that the individual has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

The ITIL Strategic Leader modules are:
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan and Improve (universal module)
  • ITIL 4 Leader: Digital and IT Strategy

ITIL 4 provides a practical and flexible basis to support organisations on their journey to the new world of digital transformation. ITIL provides an end-to-end IT/digital operating model for the delivery and operation of tech-enabled products and services and enables IT teams to continue to play a crucial role in wider business strategy.

Reminder: ITIL Foundation certificate is the prerequisite in order to enter into any intermediate level certification.


Latest All Training Brochure
Discover how we can educate, enable and engage your workforce to achieve maximum results.
Download All Courses Brochure
ITIL delivers for you and your organisation - SureSkills
Latest ITIL Brochure
Our ITIL training courses include everything you need not only to pass the exams but to excel in service management – that’s why we say “includes everything”.
View ITIL Brochure
Contact us

Looking to upgrade the service management skills or the skills of your team?  Perhaps you are looking for advice on how to begin a large ITIL project? Either way, why not contact a SureSkills training consultant - we have lots of experience and are here to help. Contact a SureSkills training consultant.